Call-in to protect Local Control!

Legislation Alert- House Bill 540, one of the 'bad bills' that is threatening local control is up for hearing this Wednesday, March 11th at 10:30am. Between now and then, we need you to CALL- IN! 

This bill would require cities to first get the attorney general's permission before passing a city ordinance. This would basically make Austin our city council, requiring the state's permission before any 'submission of initiative or referendum ballot proposals'. 

This is vast government overreach that would mean none of the following could happen without state approval: 

Public securities for parks, street improvements and other infrastructure.
Public securities for safety such as Police and Fire Departments.
Sale of alcohol
Indoor smoking bans
Tree ordinances to protect trees
Plastic bag ordinances
Hydraulic Fracturing bans
Bans on texting while driving
Limits on location of sexually oriented businesses

Please call the following elected officials during business hours and tell them that local control is a core Texas value and to stop this bill before it gets out of committee.

Please share this page with anyone who cares about maintaining local control.

*If you are in Austin on Wed, you can speak at the hearing at 10:30 am at the capital, JHR 140.

House State Affairs Committee:
Chair: Rep. Byron Cook (Dist. 8-Corsicana) 512.463.0730 byron.cook@house.state.tx.us
Vice Chair: Rep. Helen Giddings (Dist. 109-Dallas) 512.463.0953 helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us

Members
Rep. Tom Craddick (Dist. 82- Midland) 512.463.0500 tom.craddick@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Marsha Farney (Dist. 20-Georgetown) 512.463.0309 marsha.farney@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Jessica Farrar (Dist. 148-Houston) 512.463.0620 jessica.farrar@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Charlie Geren (Dist. 99-Ft. Worth) 512.463.0610 charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Patricia Harless (Dist. 126-Spring) 512.463.0496 patricia.harless@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Dan Huberty (Dist. 127-Houston) 512.463.0520 dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us
Rep. John Kuempel (Dist.44-Seguin) 512.463.0602 john.kuempel@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Josà MenÃndez (Dist. 26-San Antonio) 512.463.0634 jose.menendez@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Renà Oliveira (Dist. 37- Brownsville 512.463.0640 rene.oliveria@house.state.tx.us
Rep. John T. Smithee (Dist. 86-Amarillo) 512.463.0702 john.smithee@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Sylvester Turner (Dist. 139-Houston) 512.463.0554 sylvester.turner@house.state.tx.us

Bill Sponsors:
Rep. Phil King (Dist. 61-Parker & Wise) 512.463.0738 phil.king@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Ryan Guillen (Dist. 31) 512.463.0416 ryan.guillen@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Tony Dale (Dist. 136) 512.463.0696 tony.dale@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Tracy O. King (Dist. 80) 512.463.0194 district80.king@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Jason Issac (Dist 45) 512.463.0647 jason.issac@house.state.tx.us


For the entire text of HB540: http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/billtext/html/HB00540I.htm

For more information on bills that are threatening local control:

http://www.localcontroltexas.org/

http://www.texassharon.com/2015/03/07/alert-hb-540-nanny-bill-up-for-hearing-march-11/

For House of Rep State Affairs Committee: http://www.house.state.tx.us/committees/committee/?committee=450
WHEN
March 10, 2015 at 10am - March 11, 2015
161 RSVPS

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?


Showing 174 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.